• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Wonk
    Bloodstained
    • Feb 2015

Scope mount advice

So my Larue Tactical VFZ mount arrived today. The box it came in was much heavier than I was expecting and I thought," how heavy is this thing"? I was pleasantly surprised that the heavy box was from all the goodies they sent with the mount. I also ordered a Vortex scope anti-cant level. I assumed it should be mounted to the left side of the scope to be viewed with the left eye while looking through the scope with the right. Most pictures I've seen of anti-cant levels though are mounted on the right side of the scope. I'm totally new at any type of long range bench or prone type shooting and I plan on mounting the scope in the morning so can someone clue me in as to how to properly use one of these?
  • Variable
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

FWIW--- Mine have always been mounted to the left or under the scope centered behind the rear ring.

I've seen some pics mounted to the right also, and wondered about it as well. To each their own I guess, but I have no idea why they'd do that.
    Life member NRA, SAF, GOA, WVSRPA (and VFW). Also member WVCDL. Join NOW!!!!!
    We either hang together on this, or we'll certainly HANG separately.....

Comment

• badmoon692008
      Bloodstained
      • Mar 2015

Originally posted by Wonk View Post
      So my Larue Tactical VFZ mount arrived today. The box it came in was much heavier than I was expecting and I thought," how heavy is this thing"? I was pleasantly surprised that the heavy box was from all the goodies they sent with the mount.
      I did the same thing when I got mine...

Comment

• cory
        Chieftain
        • Jun 2012

[s]I always mount mine, so that it's the most tucked away while in the least magnification. Hope that helps.[/s]

Scratch that. I read level as lever. Dang dyslexia! haha.
        Last edited by cory; 07-27-2015, 07:41 PM.