Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • adrenaline junkie

Magazines...

I'm new to the 6.5, what are some good magazines that work well, and decent priced?

I have a few PRI 6.8 mags, I've read others saying that they work fine in the 6.5, is that true?
  • MrDraco
    Warrior
    • Jul 2011

They work fine if you only want to shoot 4-5 rounds at a time. After that you will experience issues. If you want to use more then 5 rounds you will need to use Grendel mags.

All of the Grendel mags currently are made by the same company so just find some that has a price that you feel comfortable with. I have 3 AR Stoner 10 rd mags I bought from Midway and they work flawless. The mags sold by Alexander Arms are also good as they test all mags before shipping them out.

Comment

I have not had much success using the PRI 6.8spc mags for Grendel cartridges. They do not stack well and bind up if loaded with more than 5 rounds. They do allow for an OAL of 2.290" though. The new C Products defense mags that MidwayUSA sells work well, with some adjustment to the mag body, I am able to load 10 of them at an OAL of 2.320" into the 10 round mags.

Comment

• LR1955
        Super Moderator
        • Mar 2011

Originally posted by adrenaline junkie View Post
        I'm new to the 6.5, what are some good magazines that work well, and decent priced?

I have a few PRI 6.8 mags, I've read others saying that they work fine in the 6.5, is that true?
        AJ:

Run a search and you will be able to select from a number of threads regarding the use of PRI 6.8 magazines.

LR1955

Comment

• pinzgauer
          Warrior
          • Mar 2011

Originally posted by MrDraco View Post
          They work fine if you only want to shoot 4-5 rounds at a time. After that you will experience issues. If you want to use more then 5 rounds you will need to use Grendel mags.