• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Greyling
    Bloodstained
    • Feb 2018

cycling issues with the grendel

I'm new to the grendel, just starting in on my rebarrel project and soaking up knowledge. Does the grendel have cycling issues? I have come across comments about making sure you have the right mags, a youtube video about some extractors needing tuning..... It the grendel a problem child?
  • Sticks
    Chieftain
    • Dec 2016

In short, NO to all of the above.

Problems arise when people start buying barrels with non SAMMI chambers, barrels headspaced for a non .136 bolt face (using an bored 5.56 bolt, or 7.62x39 bolt) or just flat out wrong bolt, gas ports that were drilled too large, and by far, improper assembly be it DIY or from a company that sells complete assemblies.

Grendel ARs have the same problem ratio as every other AR15 out there.

The threads and videos of "tuning" will make any AR15 run better. Lot of us here will lap the receiver face, bed the barrel and gas block, polish the extractor, ejector, and feed ramps (some will go as far as lapping the bolt to the lugs in the extension). These are all steps to make a rifle more reliable, and get the most accuracy that one can achieve with the parts involved.
    Sticks

Catchy sig line here.

Comment

• Greyling
      Bloodstained
      • Feb 2018

well that's good to hear. It seems like the biggest problems were coming from larger magazines. But the 7.62x39 has struggled with that for...forever in AR's. The problem is that straight magwell and the heavily tapered cartridge.

Comment

• outbreaker
        Warrior
        • Feb 2018

With all ARs if you having cycling issues it usually boils down to one of 2 issues.

1. Gas.....either too much or too little.
        2. Magazines. Some are good some are horrible.

I use adj gas blocks in all my AR builds......even 5.56....to fix number 1.