• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Double Naught Spy
    Chieftain
    • Sep 2013

Speer TNT Headshot Boars, Nasty Exit Coyote

A decent night of hunting, part of which was with a couple dozen lady friends who followed me about on my first hunt and made inappropriate contact with me whenever I stopped and in particular when I was trying to get sighted for shooting. They were quite shocked when I started shooting, LOL.

First hunt was a problem. I had a close hog and a sounder in the distance. Do I shoot the close one as a sure thing and hope the others don't run or do I shoot a far hog and expect the close hog to be on the run, but an easier target because it is closer? I opted for the sure thing. I managed to hit two other hogs, one that left a significant blood trail, but both made it off property.

I left the gals behind for my second hunt and spotted a lone boar that I stalked out to shoot. I apparently overstalked as it decided to head my way and I had to drop it before I figured it was too close (about 50 yards). I keep thinking that if I had not been so close, maybe it would have come much farther in my direction and I would not have had to drag it out nearly so far, LOL. Anyway, while walking up to check on this downed hog, spied a coyote enter the property. A little lipsqueaking and was able to drop the coyote. All in all, not a terrible night.

Will be out again tonight with only of my landowner's son. Good kid. He has a lot of insights into several of the properties as he grew up ranching them.
    Kill a hog. Save the planet.
    My videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
  • mdewitt71
    Warrior
    • Dec 2016

Man that is so cool....
    I recently traveled to Houston and Galveston on vacation this summer and got hooked up with the free TX Hunt/ Fish license for Disabled Vets.
    I hope to go hunt hogs there one day.

I liked seeing your rifle and shooting setup too.
    Last edited by mdewitt71; 08-10-2018, 05:32 PM.