Need some ideas to get started.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some ideas to get started.

I am new to the Gredel and am loving all about the cartridge!
    I am in the process of thinking of a bolt action 6.5 Grendel for hunting in my home sate of PA.
    I want to sell off some of my 223 to build something. Cause I can build a light 90 grain 6.5 for the little critters! LOL!
    I would hunt mainly woods. Shots ranging from 25 from a tree stand to 300 acoss a field. Nothing longer than that on this rifle build.
    I would like to build a long range rifle later for that!
    I could use some advise and tips.
    What should start purchasing?
    What action, what barrel?
    Some good brands.
    A good platform to start with?
    Oh ya, I will be shooting this rifle a lot at my gun club range.
    I usully shoot once a week. I dont belive in not getting out there and shooting!
    It would be nice to see some pictures of other builds similar and a parts list to give me some ideas.
    By the way, I am not a gunsmith! I would probably have to get it all, then find someone to do this for me.
    Thanks guys!

Based on your parameters, I'd probably buy a 7.62x39mm CZ-527 carbine and swap out the barrel for a 20-21" Grendel barrel. But unless you can find killer deals, by the time you get done buying all this stuff and paying a gunsmith you are in Grendel AR territory. Why not just take the leap?

Comment

I was looking into a bolt action, but I like the semiauto capability and that is what I went with. It seems the cartridge is capable of very tight groups at any of the ranges you are discussing. When I lived back east, I wanted smaller guns to get through the woods and less wood on the gun because of the moisture. good Luck

Comment

My thoughts exactly guys!
        I am going to build an AR in grendel. The only problem is, I can not hunt with semis in PA.
        I also hunt is MAryland once in a while. I can use them there.