Magazines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magazines

So I'm new to the Grendel. My first build will be complete just as soon as AA gets me the barrel. Can the standard 5.56 mag be used for the Grendel? I know it would hold less rounds but heard that they are the same. Is this true?
  • Clod Stomper

No, I'm afraid they aren't the same. You can get a few rounds to feed from a 5.56 mag but not many.

Right now there is only one manufacturer of Grendel mags. Can't remember the name offhand, but it used to be C-Products.

Will

Comment

5.56 mags are quite different. The Grendel mags have shallower guide ribs in them, and different feed lips, as well as different followers. If you search the forum, there are a lot of discussions and photographs of magazines, manufacturer sources, tweaks, modifications, and ideas for the future.

Comment

I guess mag shopping is in order for me. I just wanted to make sure. I've made unnecessary purchases before and do not want to again. Good info. Thanks.

Comment

Ammunition Storage Components (ASC).

I ordered a couple of 17rd mags and they look great, good enough that I ordered two more tonight. Like you, I'm waiting on a barrel so I can't yet attest to their functioning. I will say, however, that fully-loaded they bulge enough that they won't drop free when the release is pressed (they do when empty). I wish they would move the primary (large) groove back about 0.3" as I think they did with the 5.45x39 magazines. In theory, I would think this would strengthen the walls of the mag exactly where the flexing is occurring. Since they flattened the two secondary grooves somewhat in order to make the cases fit the mag, it's not clear to me why they didn't move the deep one back. Maybe Bill Alexander can fix this for us or at least have a kind conversation with the people that make these things ...
          Last edited by Guest; 03-04-2012, 12:22 PM.

Comment

• bertrunner