State of the Grendel industry?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• State of the Grendel industry?

I'm finally in the process of building a Grendel. Is the Grendel specific industry getting stronger or becoming more popular? I see that people are having a heck of a time finding barrels and bolts. I am having trouble deciding on which length barrel to use. I want to have 1000 yard capability but dont want a 24 inch barrel. Ideas welcome.
  • Keep The Change
    Warrior
    • Mar 2013

Don't want a 24" barrel?
    Get a 28" barrel then. LOL

I'm new to the Grendel and in new I mean I'm trying to build my first one. I would go ahead and order a bolt now though. You might try just getting a 264 LBC bolt from Les Bauer. They currently have some in stock last I checked, so that would be an option or you could wait a long time for an Alexander Arms 6.5 Grendel bolt. I have an AA bolt on order but I also got a 264 LBC as well.

As far as I see, the round has nowhere to go but up in popularity. It's just a matter of people finding out about it and really looking into the round and it's performance itself. It is really an obvious choice for an all around cartridge for the AR-15 platform. So I see the market growing for sure as it becomes more noticed by AR owners. The only reason that some may not consider it is due to availability of barrels and bolts.

If you drop down to a 22" barrel, you will lose about 120 FPS I believe. I think the drop off is around 60 fps per inch of barrel. Guys will chime in and correct me on this if I'm off. I think the round is maximized in a 24" barrel. I think past that, the FPS is fairly neglible.

Comment