Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MF'nLeadFarmer

Glass suggestions on a budget

Hey all I'm brand new to the AR world as well as to the 6.5G. I'm looking at building an AR lower and putting a J&T Distributing 24" bull barrel upper. I primarily want to shoot from a bench for fun/ accuracy. I will eventually but with this rifle also. I'm looking at optics and have $300-$400 to spend. I was looking at:

Leupold VX II 3x9 40

Leupold Mark AR 3x9 40

I want to stay with Leupold as I live here in Oregon and take comfort in knowing they're near if I need them. Any other suggestions?

Will the Mark AR's 5.56 specific settings even work with the 6.5? Thank you.

I would look at the vortex viper line in 2.5-10x.

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

I have the Leupold Mark AR 3 X 9 X 40 mil dot and the instruction state this scope can be used with either 5.56, 7.62 or other calibers. The instructions explain how to use the mil dot and how to sight in for your caliber. I like the mil dot plus the ability to dial in the range if I have time. I think this is a good scope for the money plus I like the size on my flat top 16" carbine. I'm using a RRA cantilever mount with thumb screws. The only thing I was surprised is the 40 MM objective does not gather the light as much as my 2.5 X 10 scope with 50 MM objective even though this is a cheap Famous Maker scope.

I decided if I was going to be hunting in low light/night I might switch optics and put on my Vortex Strike Fire red dot so I keep the red dot which I sited in for my 6.5 Grendel in my gun case.
      Last edited by VASCAR2; 12-26-2011, 12:42 AM.

Comment

• MF'nLeadFarmer

Anybody know anything about this mount? I was also looking at the Burris AR pepr. I like that the Burris mount is available with QD mounts. I like that the S.A.L.T. Is capable of mounting 30mm and 1".