What distance to zero scope

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What distance to zero scope

I'm sighting in my scope on my new 16"grendel and was wondering what distance most people use to zero. I'm using this for deer hunting and the longest distance that I'll be shooting is around 250 yards with most shots hopefully around 100 yards. So should I zero at 200? If I do where will I be hitting at 100 and 250 with a 200 yard zero? I know that this is probably easy to figure out but I'm new to rifles and scopes and not sure how the ballistics calculators work.
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

200 yard zero.

You'll be 2-3 inches high at 100 with most loads.

Comment

Look up "point blank range". That being said sight in so you hit 2.5 inches high at 100 yards. Depending on your load and how high your scope is above the rifle bore, you should be able to keep between3 inches low and high as far as you shoot

Comment

I personally dial my elevation and windage when I can, but I also like to know my PBR. On 5.56 guns, I prefer the 250m zero, which is something like 37m with M855 I think.

Comment

Originally posted by bwaites View Post
          200 yard zero.

You'll be 2-3 inches high at 100 with most loads.
          as said 2.3" Hi at 100 will get you zero at 200 and 9" low at 300 Assuming an approx 2600 FPS muzzle velocity

Comment

Thanks for the input. I'll plan on a 200 yard zero.

Comment

Might consider what kind of scope you have

I have found that the first strada after the major crosshair is almost always right on at two hundred and the third strada is on at three....but again would depend on scope

Comment