• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MeatAxe
    Bloodstained
    • Mar 2016

Vepr 6.5 Accuracy

Took my Vepr 6.5 G, 20.5" chrome lined bbl to the range for the first time shooting a variety of ammunition at 50 yards...

Well, it seemed to group Wolf steel case 100gr. fmj pretty well (@ 1"), but everything else was all over the place (4" or more @ 50 yds). This was Hornady A-Max & SST, Wolf brass cased 120gr. HPs, American Eagle 120 gr. OTMs.

This rifle apparently has a 1 in 8" twist compared to the usual 1 in 7.5" on Alexander Arms ARs. Is the Vepr just going to hate brass cased 120 something grain ammo?

What results are others getting with their 6.5 Veprs?

Thanks!
  • Joseph5
    Warrior
    • Oct 2012

Only the shorter barreled, 16 and 14.5 inch, AA rifles have a 1 in 7.5 twist. The 20 inch and longer barrels are 1 in 9 inch twist. My rifle is has a 1 in 8 inch twist barrel and shoots all weights from 95 to 130 grain accurately. I have no experience with Vepr rifles but it does seem odd to me that there is such a difference in group size. I am sure there is someone here that might have some insight as to what could be happening with your rifle. Joseph

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Were you using iron sights or an optic on your Vepr?

Comment

• MeatAxe
        Bloodstained
        • Mar 2016

Originally posted by VASCAR2 View Post
        Were you using iron sights or an optic on your Vepr?
        I was actually using a decent Nikon 3x9 scope with a Midwest Industries mount to the side rail.

Comment

• VASCAR2
          Chieftain
          • Mar 2011