• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • waveslayer
    Warrior
    • Jan 2013

case mouth bent after shooting

This might be a dumb question but I am working up some loads and I ran across this, several pieces of my Lapua brass had the case mouth flattened on one side. What is the cause of this and what should I know about it? I was using a brass catcher that was 3-4 feet away, but some were perfectly fine.
    Attached Files
  • NugginFutz
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

Originally posted by waveslayer View Post
    This might be a dumb question but I am working up some loads and I ran across this, several pieces of my Lapua brass had the case mouth flattened on one side. What is the cause of this and what should I know about it? I was using a brass catcher that was 3-4 feet away, but some were perfectly fine.
    As some here will say, "Search is your Friend"...

first off I hope im not out of bounds by asking this here but.... I have been reloading for bolt guns for about 2 years now and because my Grendel is taking forever to get here (been ordered since Dec.) I started loading 223 just to get some experience loading for a gas gun. My question is when I shoot my reloads about 70%-80%
    If it's true that we are here to help others, then what exactly are the others here for?

Comment

• waveslayer
      Warrior
      • Jan 2013

Thanks! I will most likely trim the spring... its happening on some of my blackout loads too. Good info

Comment

• NugginFutz
        Chieftain
        • Aug 2013

Originally posted by waveslayer View Post
        Thanks! I will most likely trim the spring... its happening on some of my blackout loads too. Good info
        Not a problem. I've done that mod on my Grendel, as well as switching to an adjustable gas block. My brass is no longer considering filing charges of abuse against me.
        If it's true that we are here to help others, then what exactly are the others here for?

Comment