• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lrgrendel
    Warrior
    • Jul 2013

Zero distance used and why???

Up to 1000 yds what are people using for zero distance regarding ballistic calculations.
    I have some experience with 308 WIN using JBM and have always used 100 yds.

The numbers have been pretty close.

Soon to be throwing Hornady 123 AMAX out of my Grendel that way and am wondering people's thoughts.

Thanks
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

Originally posted by lrgrendel View Post
    Up to 1000 yds what are people using for zero distance regarding ballistic calculations.
    I have some experience with 308 WIN using JBM and have always used 100 yds.

The numbers have been pretty close.

Soon to be throwing Hornady 123 AMAX out of my Grendel that way and am wondering people's thoughts.

Thanks
    My 1000 yard guns are zeroed at 400 yards. Everything else I own is zeroed at 100. I zero the long range guns at 400 because it makes it much quicker to get to 1000. However, if I have a 1000 yard range available consistently, I'll leave them zeroed at 1000.

Comment

• lrgrendel
      Warrior
      • Jul 2013

Hi
      Is that last sentence a typo??

Thanks

Comment

• bwaites
        • Mar 2011

Originally posted by bwaites View Post
        However, if I have a 1000 yard range available consistently, I'll leave them zeroed at 1000.
        That one? Yep! If I'm going to be shooting at 1000 before I shoot at anything else, I'll just zero there, slip the knobs, and leave it alone. My 7mm WSM is seldom shot anywhere shorter than 800 yards, so its just as easy to come down to 800 as go up to 1000, so it stays zeroed at 1000.

My 28" Grendel is zeroed at 400, but it may be set at 1000 for months at a time depending on the shooting schedule.

My 20" Grendel and other rifles are zeroed at 100.

Comment

• mongoosesnipe
          Chieftain
          • May 2012

my guns get zeroed at 100 bacause thats the longest range i have around me....