Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hill.brandonj

i'm a dumbass...help please!

okay so i am brand new to the ar platform and barely have my feet wet with reloading...last winter i reloaded about a box of each 30-30 and 30-06 for my bolt and lever gun....my father in law has done it forever but mostly pistol...i am reading a lot about "run-out" and the hornady and the redding dies this one better than that one.....i kneed someone to explain all this in my terms...i am not shooting comp. never over 500 yards, shit i cant see that far....thanks in advance as i know i will get some good responses from you all ....

Run out is simply a measure of how far the bullet is aligned off the center line of the case. It doesn't matter at all for your purposes. Redding, or Hornady dies are more than good enough. Runnout has to be more than .003" to even see an effect at 1,000 yards and both of those dies will load a bullet with runout less than .005" every time. At 500 yards and less it is not an issue.
    Bob

Comment

Bullet Run-Out is simply put as "the amount of wobble the projectile produces as the cartridge is rotated on a horizontal axis parallel to its length" Basically, lay the cartridge on its side and roll it, If you see the projectile wobble (a white piece of paper under the cartridge may help exaggerate the wobble) put it back in the press and run it up into the seating die, bring it back down, rotate it 180 deg., run it back up into the seating die and then recheck for wobble. Wobble that is not visible to the eye "usually" is not a problem under 300yds.

Hopefully if this is incorrect some one will speak up, but this is what I was taught by my mentors.
      Last edited by Guest; 07-06-2012, 01:47 AM.

Comment

LOL Stokes beat me!

Comment

• hill.brandonj

Okay. Thanks guys. I just couldn't see spending more than double on redding over hornady. But if it is one if those things I'll regret not spending on. I'd line to know ahead.. ...now