Bullet "sticking" in Redding Dies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bullet "sticking" in Redding Dies

I started reloading my first batch ever of Grendel ammo today. I have been reloading for several years, different calibers, and never had this issue before.

I am reloading with brand new Lapua brass. I did not full length resize them because I have never had to. I was starting on my first round and adjusting the seater die. I was using XBR and 100 grain Nosler BTs. I was striving for a 2.20" C.O.L. per Hodgdon's. I started off high and was measuring the round each time I pulled the handle. As I got closer to the C.O.L. the bullet stuck in the die. The first 5 I reloaded the same thing happened with 3 of them. I also noticed that a "ring" was on the bullet where the die made contact with the bullet. I tried to wipe out the ring but it was not a superficial mark.

What am I doing wrong?

I did take the ones that the bullet got stuck in and poured out the powder. I then put on the safety goggles and backed out the primers when I full length resized them. This seemed to help but it does not make sense to me.

FYI - I also sent an email to Redding technical support to see what they say.

Thank you for any advice your could give me.

Bert
  • Dogue
    Warrior
    • Mar 2011

Sounds like your neck tension is too high. I'd run them through a sizer die then try again.
    Μολὼν λαβέ

Comment

• Von Gruff
      Chieftain
      • Apr 2012

It could also be that the bullet cup on the seating stem is not a good match for the bullet you are using. I have chucked the stem in a drill and polished the edge on the cup to take the sharp edge off but neck tension is a major factor in the force needed to seat the bullet.

Von Gruff.
      http://www.vongruffknives.com/

sigpic Von Gruff

Grendel-Max

Exodus 20:1-17
      Acts 4:10-12

Comment

• LR1955
        Super Moderator
        • Mar 2011

Originally posted by bboudie View Post