cost of factory ammo vs. reloading

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cost of factory ammo vs. reloading

I am new to the 6.5 world, so here goes a dumb question. I have been exploring cost of reloading vs. Cost of factory loads. I can buy hornady 123 grain for at a shade over a buck a round. I have priced New brass at about .76cents ea. , bullets at about .28cents ea. So far that's over a buck and haven't bought primers, powder, or any reloading equipment . Is my math off??? Or am I not pricing main components of reloading correctly? How much should it cost to reload per round???
  • kbarnes12
    Warrior
    • Nov 2011

Just starting out and buying all the equipment is expensive and it will take many rounds to recoup the cost of everything. However one thing you did miss in your calculations is that you reuse the brass. I have gotten over 10 reloads on my .270 brass, not sure what to expect on the grendel case. One thing you could do to lower the cost of brass is to buy factory ammunition to shoot until you get your supply of brass built up.

Here is a link to a reloading cost calculator that should help get a better estimate of the cost of a reloaded round.

sigpic
    Guns kill people the same way forks make people fat.

Comment

• terrywick4

I did the same math when I started and that is why I'm starting with Hornady loaded bullets (I bought 800-900 @ 18 bucks a box) and saving the brass for reloading. I'd put the factory AMAX up against most people's reloads anyday. But once you have the brass and take that price out of your equation then reloading is worth it.

Terry

Comment

• leopard6.5

Scott: I'm sure Bill W.( bwaites) will jump in at some point but I think I remember him saying he has gotten upwards of 20 reloads from the Lapua brass.

Of course this changes the calculations considerably.

Welcome to the forum and good luck whichever way you go.

Lee

Comment

• bwaites
          • Mar 2011

Here you go: