• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Toddmcstiffens
    Unwashed
    • Jan 2021

1st time reloading--Handbook vs Forums.

Hey folks,

I'm new to the Grendel and reloading. I just got my bench set up and was looking at the Speer manual that came with my kit. Thanks goodness I have a friend that has been reloading for many years who gave me 1/2 pound of AR-Comp and a few hundred primers(and lots of advise). The data in the Speer manual for a 120gr golddot has 22.7 min charge and 25.3 max charge. as I was researching on this forum and others I'm finding that 27-28gr for AR-Comp seems to be pretty common. I also noticed that for IMR8203xbr Nosler is calling for 25.0-27.0gr for a 123gr HPBT while Speer calling for 22.9-25.4gr of the same powder for their 120gr GD.

All of that being said... where is a good starting point for AR-Comp powder?

My rifle has a 18" Rainier Arms Match barrel 1:8 rifle length gas--(have about 150 rounds thru it able to get 5/8" groups with 123 black ELD-M red tip)

I have once fired (by my rifle) Hornady brass

I have 250 Nosler 123gr HPBT CC coming next week to load up.

Any info that would help me with a loading plan would be appreciated.

Thank you
  • Klem
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

Todd,

The reason there are different recommended min/max's is not simply down to bullet weight. You have two different shape and length bullets; one is a flat base and the other a boat tail. When you load them both to mag length in an AR (because of the mag length limit) they displace different volumes in the cases. This means different pressure characteristics. In this case it seems case volume is more influential than bullet weight where pressure is concerned. This is possible because they are almost the same weight. Also, they are two different manufacturers so they will have different measuring equipment and attitudes. One will be slightly more conservative than the other.