• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JTB
    Bloodstained
    • May 2020

Brass Life Expectancy

I am somewhat new to reloading. How can I tell when my brass is worn out? I have not been over working it just bumping back a couple thousands. What signs should I be looking for. I have fired my Grendel brass about 6 times so far.
  • Lemonaid
    Warrior
    • Feb 2019

Short version, primer pocket looseness, neck splitting, possible incipient case head separation.
    Not all brass is created equal. I got about 9-10 reloads with Hornady, case neck were spitting. I expect Lapua to do better.

Comment

• Klem
      Chieftain
      • Aug 2013

JTB,

That's a $64,000 question...it depends.

If you are only bumping 3thou then incipient case separation is not going to be an issue. And unlike handgun brass it's not going to split down from the mouth unless you are working it like a pro. It more like it gets old and tired. How you define that is up to you.

Brass starts to lose ductility but as long as you keep batches together the neck tension should be the same across the strings and precision should not be affected.

The primer pocket will enlarge over multiple firings, especially with high pressure loads. Loose pockets might be the indicator you use to replace them. They won't all go equally loose so you might throw one or two away at a time until you lose confidence with the rest.

Or throw the whole batch out after an arbitrary number of firings.

I keep my brass for a few firings but the day when I don't shoot well, I start looking at the brass and that niggling doubt sets in. Cheap brass tends to get chucked whereas Lapua gets worked to the bone. Plus if it's expensive and hard to get it gets worked to death.

Comment

• JTB
        Bloodstained
        • May 2020

Originally posted by Klem View Post
        JTB,

That's a $64,000 question...it depends.