• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mopardoctor
    Warrior
    • Apr 2015

Weighting or measured charges?

Just curious, with the electronic scales of today what is more accurate, weighted loads or thrown charges from a powder measure?

Back in the '80s when I was shooting highpower with a M1 Garand we ran a practice match to find what was more accurate. We shot 20 rounds of GI ball(LC 67, $2 a box), 20 rounds of weighted charges and 20 rounds of measured charges. Brass was LC 67 and bullets were Speer 150G FMJ. The targets at the end of the match showed that the measured loads had better scores among all of our shooting group. Back then beam scales were only way to scale a load.

In the good old days GI ball was $2 a box and a bandoleer of 40 rounds was $5(with clips, cardboards, and bandoleer). My Garand cost $165.00 in 1988 from the DCM.

Mopar Doctor
  • Whit
    Bloodstained
    • Jun 2018

I'm fairly new to reloading, but I have been around scales and balances for a while. I have a little bit of a lab background, and I can tell you, not all balances/scales are created equal. Some have crappy load cells which will tell a lie, and some are quite good. I work with analytical balances that will measure to the ten-thousandths of a gram pretty accurately. Obviously that's a piece of lab equipment that no one would use on their bench top for reloading, but my point is that some are better than others. A good balance/scale that is properly calibrated and cared for ought to be more accurate and more precise than a powder measure, but the benefit of a powder measure is it is mechanical, and won't get thrown off by things like a draft when the AC comes on, or a slight vibration of the bench, etc.

That being said, you should never trust an electric balance/scale without some standards (check weights) to verify whether the thing is telling you the truth.

Comment

• Mad Charlie
      Warrior
      • May 2017