• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cst
    Warrior
    • Jan 2014

What is considered too hot?

I have a 19" Lilja barrel shooting 123 scenar reloads. This weekend it hit about 90 deg...real hot. I had to shorten my reloads from my usual 2.275" to 2.265COAL to fit in my new Elander mags.

I have always chronoed between 2520 to 2540fps depending on temp. This weekend I was getting 2585 average SD 7. I am using LVR as a powder. Ive been shooting this load for 2 years now before shorteing the COAL. I dont know if the shortened length increased pressure to increase the velocity because Im pretty sure I was right on the lands at 2.275.

I kicker is..over 60 rounds....I have no pressure signs. I shot it suppressed and unsuppressed with no remarkable signs of pressure. Slight cratering of the primers but thats it. I am using a SLR sentry gas block however.

People are constantly saying that running the round too hot will shear a lug...Before the velocity increase Ive shot atleast over 1000 rounds with this bolt.

I guess Im going to have to redo my loads with the new COAL but my groups were all sub 1/2moa.

Im using a Magnetospeed V3 BTW if that makes a difference.

I know LVR tends to be temp sensitive but not much more than my RL15 on my 308s. What do you guys think? maybe my chrono is on the fritz? or I am indeed way high on the pressure and I should back off the powder a .5 to 1 grain.
  • JASmith
    Chieftain
    • Sep 2014

Have you plotted your velocities versus temperature to see what your experience with temperature sensitivity is?

Alao was you higher than expected velocity with the suppressor installed?

Last, backing off by a few tenths of a grain will reduce your pressures and may be prudent since 90F is not particularly warm. For example, im in N. CA and we are expecting 103F today.
    shootersnotes.com

"To those who have fought and almost died for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know."
    -- Author Unknown